Art Goals 2017 and 2016 in Review
Last update February 19, 2018
Filed under ,

Art Goals for 2017 and 2016 in Review

Happy New Year and thanks for stopping by! Before I post my 2017 art goals, I would like to start with a review of my 2016 goals. 2016 was a great year with a lot to be thankful for, and my blog, Art by MLO, was no exception, as it made quite some progress over the past year.

2016 Art Goal Review

Art Goal Review 2016 - Dashboard One

Goal 1: Paint or Sketch Every Day: PASSED

  • I painted on 285 of 366 days (78%)
  • I produced:
    • three paintings on canvasses
    • 64 studies of 11 x 14 in. and larger (some of which have not been posted yet; I will post the remaining work of 2016 soon)
    • 2.5 sketch books filled with ideas

Goal 2: Post Two Articles per Month: PASSED

Over the course of the year, I posted 20 instead of 24 (83%) articles online; this is good enough considering that I also posted 340 times on social media (mostly automated), which was crucial to reach the following goal

Goal 3: Quadruple Social Media Followers: REACHED

  • I increased followers from 94 to 375, mostly on Facebook and Instagram (both platforms alone account for 318 new followers)
  • I am really happy about this result since in July, I was far behind for this art goal (I was only at 15%)

Art Goal Review 2016 - Dashboard Two

Goal 4: Read Five Art Books: NEEDS WORK

  • I read a few dozen books this year, but only three about art
  • I read Art Inc. by Lisa Congdon and Show your Work by Austin Kleon
  • My favorite was The Business of Being an Artist by Daniel Grant; although a bit older, the book went deeper into topics, had plenty of quotes and included feedback from artists and art professionals

Goal 5: Participate in Two Art Events: REACHED

Goal 6: Create Six Large-Scale Exclamatory Works: NEEDS WORK

  • Decided to postpone this project to 2017, as I was enjoying painting intuitively so decided to focus on my intuitive work
  • Also, I was hoping to document the process for my large-scale Exclamatories, but I did not yet have access to a camera with video function

 

2017 Art Goals

Goal 1: Expand Exclamatory Intermezzo Series

As I postponed this 2016 goal to the following year, I want to tackle this goal head-on. I plan to expand this series significantly because I see it as having the potential to stand out once I have the chance to develop it further. The series is a concept which developed over time and for which I received a lot of unexpected positive feedback. I plan to create 6 new large-scale works in addition to 6 small-scale works for the series. I am setting myself the goal of completing at least one per month.

Goal 2: Sell My First Painting

I feel the time is right to elevate ArtbyMLO to the next level; I set myself the goal of selling my first painting this year.

Goal 3: Expand Artist CV

I would like to leave this goal very vague at this stage, as I am not sure yet in which direction it will go. Examples include: exhibitions, art shows, or competitions, formal art education, or mentions in media.

Goal 4: Increase Followers to 1,000

I hope to keep the 2016 momentum going by growing my followers even more this year. I feel confident that I can reach a larger audience, based on last year’s results.

Goal 5: Create Videos

I’d like to share my process of two series that I am currently working on: the Exclamatory Intermezzo and Intuitive Paintings. I think these two series will be interesting to showcase as they represent entirely different approaches in terms of techniques as well as styles; the first series is meticulously planned, and the creation is long and tedious, while the second is spontaneous and fast to create. I would like to be present on YouTube since it is the world’s second largest search engine and will help me reach goals 2 and 4.

Goal 6: Transform Blog into Artist Website

I plan to add a page for commissions and a small online shop this year. I would also like to create an events page and add more info about my creative process.

Goal 7: Get Involved in the Art Community

I’m looking forward to accomplishing this art goal and hope to meet interesting people. I believe it is important to network and exchange with other artists and artisans as it broadens our perspective and stimulates our creativity. Being a self-taught artist, I believe this exchange to be extra important as it will allow me to learn, share knowledge, and get tips from other artists.

Did you set yourself art goals for this year?

Martin Lukas Ostachowski

Geometric abstraction artist based in Sherbrooke, QC, Canada. I work mostly with acrylics on paper, and I prefer large spatulas over brushes.

11 Comments

  1. durhamslovelifetravel on 15. January 2017 at 9:10

    For the most part it appears you came very close to meeting your 2016 goals, sometimes it can be hard when you get bogged down and have no idea how you find the time to pain and run a blog. Gosh 285 days of painting, that is fantastic. We have been trying to get at our next painting for the last three months and hopefully just going to bite the bullet and finish up this month. We paint together and it’s interesting how our painting turn our seamless. Your work is great. Congrats on quadrupling your social media!

    • Martin Lukas Ostachowski on 18. January 2017 at 7:37

      Thank you, yes I am quite happy with the outcome. That’s really great that you paint together.

  2. Blair Villanueva on 16. January 2017 at 0:44

    I just recently attended this Chinese painting workshop and and I’ve learned its basics and technique. So my goal this year it to learn the craft and create a painting of my own :)

    • Martin Lukas Ostachowski on 18. January 2017 at 7:41

      Chinese ink paintings are beautiful and the workshop must have been interesting. That’s a great goal, happy painting.

  3. Carola on 16. January 2017 at 15:15

    Great goals. I love how you think in percentages and not just yes or no. This puts it in perspective. And being ambitious is always a good thing! You have some great goals for this year as well. Great goal to sell your first painting.

  4. V.J.Maheu on 21. January 2017 at 23:19

    I’d really like to hear what strategies you used to increase your social media following so much. Would you consider writing a post outlining what you did?

  5. Blair Villanueva on 2. February 2017 at 11:24

    Are you putting up a museum too for your paintings?! They looked stunning!

  6. Filipa on 3. February 2017 at 7:43

    It looks like you fulfilled most of your goals from 2016, that’s great! I wish you a lot of luck in 2017 and I hope you’ll sell your first painting soon. I know it feels great selling something that’s your work for the first time.
    Also, your paintings are really gorgeous! Best of luck with everything!

    xx

  7. Mihir on 18. October 2017 at 2:55

    It’s important to set goals no matters in what will you are in for marketer is like me it’s increasing to the reach every second

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

About Martin

Martin Lukas Ostachowski in his art studio

Geometric abstraction artist Martin Lukas Ostachowski is currently exploring the concept of transience through the study of cloud formations ... » About » À propos

Let's Stay in Touch!

Painting Series